Reviews

Sometimes Always Monsters Throwback Review

The 2014 game, Always Sometimes Monsters, have recently released a sequel two years ago called Sometimes Always Monsters; yes, I know, the title can be confusing but you’ll get used to it. The developers did add a few new adjustments compared to the first game, but I feel like it is still not enough.

Avoiding any spoilers, Sometimes Always Monsters is a game where you continue to where you left off from the first game; thanks to its cross-save function! Regardless of who the protagonist is, the player will go through a book tour while dealing with false accusations of being a fraud. Honestly, in my opinion, I like how the story had went. The plot for the game made actual sense. I don’t know if the developers had this planned out or what but either way, I congratulate them for it.

Other than the story, another thing that has surprised me was the amount of interactions that have happened in the game. My character could make conversation with those around her plus spend time at various locations; instead of just only doing it for quest-related purposes. There were even times where the people on the book tour have communicated with each other too! In addition, other than maintaining her stamina, I also have to focus on making sure it’s physical health & hygiene are on par. At least I could pursue more activities unlike in the previous game.

The only downside I could think of are the glitches. There’s not a lot of glitches, but there’s not just one of them either. Even at the start of the game, there was one glitch where a random jack-o-lantern had appeared in the corner of the background. I don’t know, I find that very weird. Another glitch where even though the protagonist is married, she had flirted with someone during the tour. I don’t know if it was a glitch or they were just a background character, but it never been brought up again in the game.

It would’ve been interesting to see how it had negatively affect the marriage between the protagonist and her significant other. I’ve wanted to witness other conditions than just some “happily ever after” conclusion. Same goes for one scenario, for instance, where someone in the group had wanted us to sleepover at a haunted museum. Instead of, y’know, getting in deep trouble for doing so, we just go back on the tour bus like it never happened. I had expected a bit more from than; especially since your choices are supposed to have “consequences” and whatnot.

To be honest with you, I am not sure if there will be a third installment for this series or not. If it ever does get announced one day, I’ll be ready for it. Sure, Sometimes Always Monsters had a few disadvantages, but it gave me the benefit of the doubt.

Game Rating: 7/10


Sometimes Always Monsters (2020), PC

Developer & Publisher: Vagabond Dog